Chairman of the Council of the District of Columbia

Official Date Elected Dates Re-Elected Reason no longer holding the office
Sterling Tucker (D) 11-5-74   Ran for Mayor and was defeated in Primary 11-7-78
Arrington Dixon (D) 11-7-78   Defeated in Primary 9-14-82
David A. Clarke (D) 11-2-82 11-4-86 Ran for Mayor and was defeated in Primary 9-11-90
John A. Wilson (D) 11-6-90   Died while in office 5-19-93
David A. Clark (D) 9-14-93   Died while in office 3-27-97
Linda Cropp (D) 7-22-97 11-8-94, 11-3-98
Ran for Mayor and was defeated in the Primary 9-12-2006
Vincent C. Gray (D) 11-7-06 Ran for Mayor and won 11-2-2010
Kwame R. Brown 11-2-10   Resigned
Phil Mendelson 11-6-12 11-4-14
DC Board of Elections
1015 Half Street, SE, Suite 750
Washington, DC 20003
Tel: (202) 727-2525 | TTY: (202) 639-8916 | Tollfree: 1-866-DC-VOTES
Don't see your Questions listed? Ask the Director now! Election Year 2016 Register to Vote Find your Polling Place Election Day Workers Interactive Maps Employment Opportunities

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Mobile Application