Ward 8 Member of the Council of the District of Columbia

Official Date Elected Dates Re-Elected Reason no longer holding the office
James Coates (D) 11-5-74   Defeated in re-election in Primary 9-14-76
Wilhelmina Rolark (D) 11-2-76 11-4-80, 11-6-84, 11-8-88 Defeated in re-election in Primary 9-15-92
Marion Barry (D) 11-3-92   Ran for Mayor and won 11-8-94
Eydie D. Whittington (D) 5-2-9510   Defeated in re-election in Primary 9-10-96
Sandy Allen (D) 11-5-96 11-7-00 Defeated in re-election in Primary 9-14-04
Marion Barry (D) 11-2-04 11-4-08, 11-6-12 Died while in office 11-23-14
LaRuby May 4-28-15

10. Special Election to fill remainder of Marion Barry's Unexpired Term.

DC Board of Elections
1015 Half Street, SE, Suite 750
Washington, DC 20003
Tel: (202) 727-2525 | TTY: (202) 639-8916 | Tollfree: 1-866-DC-VOTES
Don't see your Questions listed? Ask the Director now! Election Year 2016 Register to Vote Find your Polling Place Election Day Workers Interactive Maps Employment Opportunities

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Mobile Application